

MEMORANDUM

To: Faculty, Staff, and Students, Department of Philosophy

From: Professor William A. Gough, Vice-Principal Academic & Dean

Date: 5 May 2022

Re: Advisory Search Committee and Call for Nominations: Chair, Department of Philosophy

Note: For distribution widely

Thank you to all who sent me nominations for the Advisory Search Committee for the Chair of the Department of Philosophy. I have appointed a Committee with the following composition:

- William A. Gough, Vice-Principal Academic & Dean (Chair)
- Yana Yunusova, Vice-Dean (Acting) Students, School of Graduate Studies, U of T
- Christian Pfeiffer, Assistant Professor, Department of Philosophy, U of T Scarborough
- Martin Pickavé, Professor, Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Philosophy, U of T St. George
- William Seager, Professor, Department of Philosophy, U of T Scarborough
- Jessica Wilson, Professor, Department of Philosophy, U of T Scarborough
- Marybel Menzies, Undergraduate Student, Department of Philosophy, U of T Scarborough

For the success of the selection process, the input of faculty, staff, and students, is crucial. You are invited to submit, in writing, the names of individuals you feel have the attributes we should be looking for in a Chair. Please briefly indicate the reasons for your nominations.

Your submissions will be held in confidence and made known only to Committee members. Submissions should be sent to the attention of Fefe Wong, Manager Academic HR, at academichr.utsc@utoronto.ca no later than 12 May 2022.